SELFSCRUM

A Learning and Operating System for Alternative Schools

lernOS

2020-05-13
We have already discussed use cases and also some processes for our emerging platform and created an MVP from these. What I was still missing as a starting point for the implementation: a management concept that fits to our ideas and that can be flexibly adapted to our needs. Scrum classic is too heavy and too nerdy for students, and we have different cycles compared to a normal software development project. Continue reading

Finalist!

2020-04-29
We are happy and proud that we have been named finalist today :) Our submission video is here!

Selfscrum - What is it?

2020-04-27
First definition of SELFSCRUM, created during the hackathon. In the meantime we have developed quite a bit, see About Us. During the #EUvsVirus hackathon or when talking with friends about my new passion project, I more often than not get the blank stare in the face of my coutnerpart that signals me that I got lost in space, and not everyone else. So I will try to explain here what Selfscrum is and how we are planning to do good in the world of schooling or, better, learning (which are not synonyms. Continue reading

Submission

2020-04-27
It was not easy to crawl out of bed this morning. And the start of our little project is tough, we circle around different options how to proceed. After the first break, Rogerio creates the breakthrough by asking to work for himself. This terminates the peer pressure and everyone can start creating the assets he or she can do best. We now quickly develop the pattern how to work proceses, how the screens should loke like for them, and how the overall assembly can work. Continue reading

MVP

2020-04-25
Some machinery got upset yesterday by the temporary breakdown of the hackathon submission system - we got notice that the first checkin point of our mentor is not 10am but 2pm. Also fine, leaves some more time for breakfast and morning coffee. We start in the late morning, team increased by Ümran who brought a friend. The start is slow but we gain momentum. Théo our interaction design expert conjures up diagram after diagram, and some really helpful templates. Continue reading

Kickoff

2020-04-24
Wow what a kickoff :) 5 members are in the team - Annie from UK, Ümmühan from Turkey, Théo from France and Rogerio from Portugal appeared one after the other in the video meeting which became an icon so quick in these times. 5 countries, 3 timezones, no pre-approved business plan nor a motivational speech - and yet we managed after a short intrductionary round to jump right into the topic of our hackathon project - solidifying and extending the inital idea of a “programmed whiteboard” that allows students and their mates, mentors, and parents, to collaborate or at least participate in the student’s learn path. Continue reading

How it all begins

2020-04-24
Inspiration We founded an open school two years ago, and educate students how to plan their learning paths, which they have to do themselves in our school. Since we don’t prescribe any formal curriculum, and don’t do tests or assessments, most of the existing management school software is not usable for us. This is especially true in the current situation where pupils have to stay home. We think that the learner is the owner of his/her learning path, and as such has to have the possibilty to learn how to manage it. Continue reading
Newer posts

SELFSCRUM

Ein Lern-, Organisations- und Betriebssystem für alternative Schulen

lernOS

2020-05-13 Community
Für unsere entstehende Plattform haben wir bereits Anwendungsfälle und auch einige Prozesse diskutiert und daraus einen MVP erstellt. Was mir noch fehlte als Startpunkt für die Implementierung: ein Management-Konzept, das gut zu unseren Ideen passt und das sich flexibel an unsere Bedürfnisse anpassen lässt. Scrum classic ist mir zu schwergewichtig und zu nerdig für Schüler, und wir haben andere Zyklen, die wir betrachten als ein normales Software-Entwicklungs-Projekt. Und tadaa - da erscheint plötzlich lernOS! Weiterlesen

Finalist!

2020-04-29 Community
Wir sind glücklich und stolz, dass wir heute von der Jury zum Finalist ernannt wurden! Unser Beitrag-Video findet ihr hier!

Selfscrum - Was ist das?

2020-04-27 Community
Erste Definition von SELFSCRUM, die während des Hackathons entstand. Inzwischen haben wir uns ordentlich weiterentwickelt, siehe Über Uns. Während des #EUvsVirus-Hackathons, oder wenn ich mit Freunden über mein neues Lieblingsprojekt spreche, bekomme ich oft den leeren Blick im Gesicht meines Gegenübers, der mir signalisiert, dass ich mich wieder mal im Weltall verirrt habe, und nicht alle anderen, wie ich manchmal meine. Ich werde also versuchen, hier zu erklären, was Selfscrum ist und wie wir Gutes in der Welt der Schulbildung oder, besser gesagt, des Lernens (keine Synonyme! Weiterlesen

Einreichung

2020-04-27 Community
Es war nicht leicht, heute Morgen aus dem Bett zu kriechen. Und der Beginn unseres kleinen Projekts ist hart, wir kreisen um verschiedene Optionen, wie wir vorgehen sollen. Nach der ersten Pause schafft Rogerio den Durchbruch, indem er darum bittet, für sich selbst zu arbeiten. Damit ist der Gruppendruck beendet, und jeder kann damit beginnen, das zu schaffen, was er oder sie am besten kann. Wir entwickeln nun schnell das Muster, wie die Arbeitsprozesse ablaufen, wie die Bildschirme für sie aussehen sollen und wie die gesamte Zusammenstellung überhaupt funktionieren kann. Weiterlesen

MVP

2020-04-25 Community
Die Maschinerie wurden gestern durch den vorübergehenden Ausfall des Hackathon-Einreichungssystems aus dem Gleichgewicht gebracht - wir haben erfahren, dass der erste Check-in-Punkt unseres Mentors nicht 10 Uhr morgens, sondern 14 Uhr nachmittags ist. Auch in Ordnung, so dass noch etwas mehr Zeit für Frühstück und Morgenkaffee bleibt. Wir starten am späten Vormittag, das Team wurde von Ümmühan verstärkt, die einen Freund mitbrachte. Der Start ist langsam, aber wir gewinnen an Schwung. Weiterlesen

Kickoff

2020-04-24 Community
Wow, was für ein Kickoff :) 5 Mitglieder sind im Team - Annie aus dem Vereinigten Königreich, Ümmühan aus der Türkei, Théo aus Frankreich und Rogerio aus Portugal erschienen nacheinander in der Videokonferenz, die in diesen Zeiten so schnell zu einem Symbolbild wurde. 5 Länder, 3 Zeitzonen, kein vorab genehmigter Businessplan und keine Motivationsrede - und doch haben wir es nach einer kurzen Einführungsrunde geschafft, direkt in das Thema unseres Hackathon-Projekts einzusteigen - die anfängliche Idee eines “programmierten Whiteboards” zu festigen und zu erweitern. Weiterlesen

Wie alles beginnt

2020-04-24 Community
Inspiration Wir haben vor zwei Jahren eine offene Schule gegründet und lehren die Schülerinnen und Schüler, wie sie ihre Lernwege planen können, was sie in unserer Schule selbst tun müssen. Da wir keinen formalen Lehrplan vorschreiben und keine Tests oder Beurteilungen durchführen, ist der größte Teil der bestehenden Software für Managementschulen für uns nicht nutzbar. Dies gilt insbesondere in der gegenwärtigen Situation, in der die Schüler* zu Hause bleiben müssen. Weiterlesen
Neuere Beiträge